This page includes some highlighted books (and a few DVDs) specific to the NURS110 history paper. A different view of highlighted nursing history books is available in our library catalog's Nursing History collection.
Would you like to browse our nursing books in person? Most nursing books are in the "R" call number range, with RT being especially rich in nursing history. However, some books related to nursing history are found in other call number sections, including the D and E call number ranges. We're happy to help you find good browsing sections.
More information about finding books in the library can be found on the Find Books tab on the Nursing Subject Guide. We can usually borrow books from another library if we don't have what you need.
You can also easily return to the NURS110 library page or access the library's overall Nursing Subject Guide for topics such as searching for articles, APA citations, NCLEX-RN tools, and more guides for specific nursing classes.
The library provides access to many electronic nursing books, some as individual titles and some in collections of ebooks (e.g., STAT!Ref). Ebooks can also be found using the Books tabs under Quick Search on the library's website or the OneSearch link below.
Some suggested general nursing history books are listed below. In September, you can also check out the nursing history book display in the library.
Taking Care: The Story of Nursing and its Power to Change our World
Enduring Issues in American Nursing
Contemporary American Leaders in Nursing
Taking charge: Nursing, suffrage, and feminism in America, 1873-1920
History of Professional Nursing in the United States
Nursing History for Contemporary Role Development
Nursing Interventions Through Time: History as Evidence
Nursing the Finest Art
by
Nursing the Nation: Building the Nurse Labor Force
The Origins and Rise of Associate Degree Nursing Education
Pivotal Moments in Nursing: Leaders Who Changed the Path of a Profession
Pivotal Moments in Nursing: Leaders Who Changed the Path of a Profession volume II
The library has some biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias for nursing, some of which are listed below.
In addition to these encyclopedias and biographical dictionaries, background material can also be found online using Gale Ebooks/Gale Virtual Reference Library, which includes the full-text to hundreds of specialized encyclopedias.
You can search for keywords like "nursing history" or "nurses" and "history." Or, try an advanced search with keywords and limit your results to "history" as a collection area. For information about a specific nurse, try an advanced search for the nurse's name as a keyword and limit your results to "biography" as a subject area.
Over 250 academic reference encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Learn about Using GVRL to Find Background Material. (Gale)
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
Dictionary of American Medical Biography
Notable American Women, 1607-1950
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Making the World Safe: The American Red Cross and a Nation's Humanitarian Awakening
Nursing in the Storm: Voices from Hurricane Katrina
Luna Babies: A Story of the Incubator Babies Exhibit at Luna Park, Coney Island, New York
Pale Rider: The Spanish Flu of 1918 and How it Changed the World
It took courage, compassion, and curiosity: Recollections and writings of leaders in cancer nursing, 1890-1970
Nurse Practitioners and Nurse Anesthetists: The Evolution of the Global Roles
Coming Home: How Midwives Changed Birth
Dr. Nurse: Science, politics, and the transformation of American nursing
Frontier Nursing in Appalachia: History, Organization and the Changing Culture of Care
A History of Midwifery in the United States : The Midwife Said Fear Not
Hurt: The Inspiring, Untold Story of Trauma Care
Talking Therapy: Knowledge and Power in American Psychiatric Nursing
To Comfort Always: A History of Palliative Medicine Since the Nineteenth Century
Empire of care: Nursing and migration in Filipino American history
Nursing's greatest leaders: A history of activism
The Black Angels: The untold story of the nurses who helped cure tuberculosis
Memories of a Tuskegee Airmen Nurse and Her Military Sisters
Louisa on the Front Lines: Louisa May Alcott in the Civil War
African American and Cherokee Nurses in Appalachia
As We See Ourselves: Jewish Women in Nursing
Birth Control in America: The Career of Margaret Sanger
A Bold Profession: African Nurses in Rural Apartheid South Africa
China Gadabouts: New Frontiers of Humanitarian Nursing 1941-51
Cicely Saunders: A Life and Legacy
A Woman of Valor: Clara Barton and the Civil War
Early Black American Leaders in Nursing
Edith Cavell : Nurse, Martyr, Heroine
Nursing Before Nightingale, 1815-1899
Florence Nightingale, Feminist
Florence Nightingale, Nursing, and Health Care Today
Lt. Elsie Ott's Top Secret Mission: The WWII Flight Nurse Pioneer of Aeromedical Evacuation
Lyle Creelman: The Frontiers of Global Nursing
Mary Breckinridge: the Frontier Nursing Service & rural health in Appalachia
Mary Eliza Mahoney and the Legacy of African American Nurses
Medicine Women: The Story of the First Native American Nursing School
Nursing theorists and their work
Nursing Theorists and Their Work
Nursing Theorists and Their Work
Nursing with a Message: Public Health Demonstration Projects in New York City
Polio Wars: Sister Elizabeth Kenny and the Golden Age of American Medicine
Prelude to Hospice: Florence Wald, Dying People, and Their Families
The Public Health Nurses of Jim Crow Florida
The Rebel Nurse Handbook: Inspirational Stories by Shift Disruptors
Soviet Nightingales: Care under communism
One Hundred Years of Wartime Nursing Practices, 1854-1953
Heroines of Mercy Street: The Real Nurses of the Civil War
Containing Trauma: Nursing Work in the First World War
Easing Pain on the Western Front
First World War Nursing
The Forbidden Zone: A Nurse's Impressions of the First World War
Veiled Warriors: Allied Nurses of the First World War
Nurse Writers of the Great War
Quiet Heroes: Navy Nurses of the Korean War 1950-1953, Far East Command
And If I Perish: Frontline US Army Nurses in World War II
Beyond the Call of Duty: Army Flight Nursing in World War II
Cadet Nurse Stories: The Call for and Response of Women During World War II
Pure Grit: How American World War II Nurses Survived Battle and Prison Camp in the Pacific
This Is Really War: The incredible True Story of a Navy Nurse POW in the Occupied Philippines
Angel Walk: Nurses at War in Iraq and Afghanistan
Nurses in War: Voices from Iraq and Afghanistan
Vietnam War Nurses: Personal Accounts of 18 Americans
Women at War: The Story of Fifty Military Nurses Who Served in Vietnam
American Daughter Gone to War
Serving Proudly: A History of Women in the U.S. Navy
Nursing Civil Rights: Gender and Race in the Army Nurse Corps
Tompkins Cortland Community College Library 170 North St, P.O. Box 139, Dryden, NY 13053
607-844-8222, ext. 4360 | 1-888-567-8211, ext. 4360 (toll free)
Ask a Librarian
