TC3 Library Guides: RECR150: Play Across Diverse Cultures: Recreation Resources

Recreation Studies Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
A two-volume survey of the pursuit of leisure in the United States, from Colonial to modern times, presented through 271 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes specific types of recreational activities as well as important themes in the history of leisure. For students, researchers, and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society
Explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Covers leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today.
Principles of Sports Medicine & Exercise Science
This volume introduces students and researchers to how a healthy human body works during exercise and how sports and physical activity promote health and performance, ranging from the cellular level to whole body perspectives. Coverage also includes exercise physiology, sports psychology, human anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, biokinetics, diet, the nature and pathology of sport injuries, and injury rehabilitation.
Exercise and Physical Activity: From Health Benefits to Fitness Crazes
This title explores exercise and physical activity from a variety of angles, including anatomy and exercise science, health benefits and risks, the wide array of sports and recreational activities available, and the sociocultural context of physical fitness.
Exercise: Your Questions Answered
This book covers questions about exercise and physical activity for those interested in starting and maintaining healthy habits. Whether it’s going for a run or to a yoga class, playing basketball, or doing yardwork, moving regularly is vital for both physical and mental well-being. This book explores the different forms of exercise and physical activity, benefits and risks, why many people resist physical activity, and how to create and maintain a healthy, sustainable plan.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Over 250 academic reference encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Learn about Using GVRL to Find Background Material. (Gale)

Recreation Studies Databases

Gale Health and Wellness

Comprehensive consumer health resource that includes full text articles from medical journals and magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Covers a full range of health issues from current diseases to alternative medical practices. (Gale) A NOVEL NY database.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Suitable for both researchers and practitioners. Includes over 100 titles covering physical therapy and sports medicine. (Gale) A NOVEL NY database.
Academic Search Ultimate
The full text of articles from peer-reviewed, academic journals as well as magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women's studies, zoology and more. (EBSCO)
EBSCO Article Databases
Articles from all EBSCO database sources, covering a broad range of topics.

Recreation Studies Books and eBooks

Recreation Studies Websites and Organiztions

Inclusive Recreation Resource Center
The mission of the Center is to promote and sustain participation by people of all abilities in inclusive recreation activities and resources. We help people play wherever they choose!
Leave No Trace: Research & Science
Leave No Trace research covers a plethora of different topics and studies. Scientists from all over the world are working individually and in teams to study, assess, and understand more about Leave No Trace behaviors, ideology, messaging and more.
Ithaca Trails
Comprehensive guide to trails in Tompkins County
New York State Parks
Guide to activities in 180 NY State Parks
NYSDEC - Hunting
Rules, regulations, and resources for hunting in New York State
NYSDEC - Freshwater Fishing
Rules, regulations, and resources for fishing in New York lakes, streams, and rivers.

Librarian

Eric Jenes

Email Me

Contact:

Library 252H

607.844.8222 x4395

Subjects: Anthropology, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, History, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Recreation, Social Science, Sociology